Who are we?

The Canadian Nursery Landscape Association (CNLA) is a national not-for-profit federation of nine provincial landscape and horticulture associations representing over 4,600 members. Comprised of thousands of locally owned companies that grow, sell, design, install, and maintain plants and other landscape features, our members represent over $2.2 billion at the farm gate and over $14 billion in economic impact in Canada.

Our Mission
CNLA, with the Provincial Associations, will develop programs, undertake initiatives and form alliances in order to achieve sustainable prosperity for members and stakeholders.

Our Vision
A prosperous, professional and ethical industry that is recognized, valued and utilized by the public, as a result of the environmental, economic and life-style benefits provided by our members' products and services.

View our current Board of Directors here>

We represent:

Landscape Professionals | Landscape Suppliers | Independent Garden Centres | Nursery Growers

The Foundations

Landscape Horticulture Certification Program (LHCP)

Provincial Associations

CNLA - Growing & Creating Our Future - 1922-2022

Celebrating 100 Years of Horticulture! #YearOfTheGarden2022


Over 100 Years of History


Growing a stronger green industry in Canada since 1922.

  • The purpose of CNLA-ACPP is to foster relationships and alliances, provide member certification and help its members function more effectively.
  • The Association dates back to 1922 with the formation of the Eastern Canada Nurserymen's Association, with members mainly from Quebec and Ontario. Gradual expansion of the nursery industry over the years resulted in the formation of seven regional associations by 1964.
  • Each regional association was represented on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Nursery Trades Association (CNTA). CNTA was registered in 1968.
  • In 1972, the CNTA office was established in Ottawa. In 1973, it adopted the name Landscape/Paysage Canada for its brevity and easy bilingual connotation and because it represented more adequately the scope of the industry. Then in 1978, CNTA was relocated to the Landscape Ontario office in Mississauga, Ontario.
  • In 1998, CNTA officially changed its name to the Canadian Nursery Landscape Association (CNLA), in order to accurately reflect the nature of its members. CNLA has an official constitution and is incorporated under the laws of The Canadian Corporations Act.
  • In 2022, The CNLA celebrated 100 year anniversary.

CNLA Constitution Bylaws

Download PDF

CNLA Presidents (1946 - Present)

1946 -1949 1979 -1980
SPENCER McCONNEL, Port Burwell, Ontario WADE HARTWELL, Calgary, Alberta
1950 -1951 1980 -1983
J.A. AITKEN, Brantford, Ontario MARC THIEBAUD, Brooklin, Ontario
1953 -1953 1983 -1984
T.A. TORGESON, Estevan, Saskatchewan RON HUNTER, Surrey, British Columbia
1954 -1955 1985 -1986
J.V. STENSSON, Oakville, Ontario STAN KOCHANOFF, Falmouth, Nova Scotia
1956 -1957 1987 -1988
A.B. LUKE, Montreal, Quebec HENRY HEUVER, Calgary, Alberta
1958 -1959 1989 -1990
W.B. WELLINGTON, Fonthill, Ontario KARL E. STENSSON, Georgetown, Ontario
1959 -1960 1991 -1992
TED SHUTTLEWORTH, London, Ontario GERRY HUTCHINSON, Aldergrove, British Columbia
1960 -1961 1993 -1994
JOHN McDONALD, Lacombe, Alberta GORD SHUTTLEWORTH, London, Ontario
1961 -1962 1995 -1996
W.H. PERRON, Montreal, Quebec GLORIA BECK, Red Deer, Alberta
1962 -1963 1997 -1999
J. HENRY EDDIE, Vancouver, British Columbia JOHN ZAPLATYNSKY, Burnaby, British Columbia
1963 -1964 1999 -2001
LEN CULLEN, Toronto, Ontario BRUCE MCTAVISH,White Rock, British Columbia
1964 -1965 2001 -2003
CARL LUCK, Ste. Therese, Quebec VICTOR KRAHN, CLHT, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
1966 – 1967 2003-2005
DAVID HUNTER, Surrey, British Columbia HAROLD DEENEN, CLHM, Toronto, Ontario
1967 -1968 2005 -2007
LENO MORI, Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario PAUL OLSEN, Schomberg, Ontario
1968 -1969 2007-2009
JOHN PHILLIPO, Burnaby, British Columbia MICHAEL MURRAY, Portugal Cove, Newfoundland
1969 -1970 2009-2011
KEITH LAVER, Cooksville, Ontario CARY VAN ZANTEN, Surrey, BC
1970 -1971 2011-2013
JACK VINCELLI, Montréal, Quebec BILL STENSSON, Georgetown, ON
1971 -1972 2013-2015
1973 -1974 2015-2016
FRANK FITZELLE, Port Burwell, Ontario RENE THIEBAUD, CLHM, Toronto, ON
1975 -1976 2017-2019
MEL McEWAN, West St. Paul, Manitoba BRUCE HUNTER, CLHT, CLD, CLM, Surrey, BC
1977 -1978 2019-2021
GLEN PEISTER, Kitchener, Ontario PHIL PAXTON, CLHT, CLHM, Strathmore, AB
1978 -1979 2021-2023
STEVE LASTIWKA, Andrew, Alberta ANTHONY O’NEILL, Spaniard’s Bay, NL

CNLA President's Award Recipients

The CNLA President’s Award is given to members or staff who, in the opinion of the current Executive Committee of the CNLA Board of Directors, have demonstrated beyond question, a sustained personal commitment that has contributed beneficially to the enhancement of the industry at a national or international level.

2022 - RENE THIEBAUD, OGS Landscape Group, Brooklin, ON

2022 - CHRISTENE STENHOUSE LEVATTE, CLHM, CLD Highland Landscapes for Lifestyle, Sydney, NS

2017 - MICHAEL MURRAY, Murray’s Horticultural Services, Portugal Cove, NL

2016 - HAROLD DEENEN, Hank Deenen Landscaping, Toronto, ON

2015 - VIC KRAHN, Lakeshore Tree Farms, Saskatoon, SK

2013 - GLORIA BECK, Parkland Nurseries and Garden Centre, Red Deer, AB

HENRY HEUVER, Foothills Landscaping Ltd., Calgary, AB

SANDY ROBERTON, Earth-Craft Landscape Ltd., Bedford, NS

2010 - KARL STENSSON, Sheridan Nurseries Ltd., Georgetown, ON

2011 - JOHN ZAPLATYNSKY, GardenWorks, Burnaby, BC

MARC THIEBAUD, OGS Landscape Group, Brooklin, ON

CASEY VAN MARIS, Parklane Nurseries, Gormely, ON